Boundary Changes
                       1851 ~ 1893

From the time of the formation of the Oregon Territory, thru its admission to the United States in 1859 until the counties assumed their present form in 1908, there were numerous boundary changes.  The original Oregon Territory included land that later became part of Montana & Wyoming as well as all of present day Washington and Idaho.  The original counties, Champoeg, Clackamas, Washington & Yamhill were formed in 1843.  From these four, came all the other 36 counties.   To see the various county boundary changes, click here.

Check out our favorite Genealogy Links or Vital Records
Take a look at our Resources
Return to County Home Page
Ask for a Lookup
Place a Query
Visit other Oregon Counties
Look at county Activities,   Maps and History
Go to  BiographiesCemeteries,  or Census Records
Have a peek at Geographic Place Names