Wasco County ORGenWeb
This site was last updated 26 September 2015
Hi! My name is Constance, I am the new coordinator of Wasco County ORGenWeb. If you have problems with the website, comments about, or if you would like to contribute information to the Wasco County Project, please email me. Because I don't live in Wasco county I am unable to do on site research, but I will do my best to help you find what you are looking for.  
    Search Wasco County
index sitemap advanced
site search by freefind

What's New!










Land & Property


News Stand


Photo Gallery

References & Resources


Towns & Townships

Vital Records

Submit Gravestone photos for Wasco County cemeteries, using this direct link to Wasco county gravestone photos project. 
 Wasco County Gravestone Photo Project


Wasco County Neighbors

  Families living in Wasco county may have family ties in our bordering counties, so be sure to search our neighbors also                      >>>>>> On the East is Sherman & Wheeler Counties
On the South is Jefferson County
On the West is Clackamas, Hood River & Marion Counties
On the North is Klickitat Washington


History Wasco County is named for the Wasco (or Wascopam) tribe of Indians that lived south of the Columbia River, near The Dalles. When Wasco County was created from portions of Clackamas, Marion, Linn, and Lane Counties on January 11, 1854, it consisted of all of Oregon Territory between the Cascade Range and the Rocky Mountains and from latitude 42deg. (the California border) to latitude 46deg. (the Washington border). This was the largest county ever formed in the United States, originally consisting of 130,000 square miles. Portions of Wasco County as it was originally drawn now lie in Idaho, Montana, and Wyoming. Over the years, seventeen other counties in eastern Oregon were created from Wasco County, which now consists of 2,387 square miles. It is bordered by two rivers, the Columbia to the north and the Deschutes to the east, and by the Warm Springs Indian Reservation on the south and Mt. Hood National Forest on the west. Wasco County shares political boundaries with Sherman, Wheeler, Jefferson, Clackamas, and Hood River Counties. The Dalles was designated the county seat when the county was formed in 1854. Courthouses were built in 1859, 1884, and in 1914. All three buildings are standing today and the 1914 building is still in use as the county courthouse. (more)



Copyright © 2015 The submitters & ORGenWeb

 ~ all of which applies to the Wasco co. website. ~


You are our  visitor!



access genealogy Thank you Access Genealogy
for hosting Wasco Co.